27th Summer Universiade in Kazan,

July 6-17 2013

Russian Canoe Sprint Championships to be held in Kazan on August 12-18

The Russian Canoe Sprint Championships will take place at the Rowing Centre and include the nation's top rowers aged 19 and under. Up to 300 athletes representing 15 regions of the country will compete in 83 medal events. The tournament kicks off on August 13.

The national championship will bring together best rowers of Moscow, St. Petersburg, Krasnodar Krai, as well as Ulyanovsk, Kaluga, Ryazansk, Rostov, Astrakhan, Moscow, Saratov and Voronezh Oblasts, Republic of Tatarstan and some other regions. 

Leaders of the Russian national team:

- men's kayak - Oleg Gusev, Vladislav Blintsov, Vladislav Pobirchenko,  Anton Belskoy;
- men's canoe - Vladislav Chebotar, Artyom Pron, Ilya Isaev, Dmitry Sharov; 
- women's kayak - Inna Nikitina, Varvara Baranova, Lyudmila Odintsova, Kristina Kovnir. 

The Republic of Tatarstan will be represented by the following rowers:

- kayak - Arthur Valeev, Georgy Salmin, Roman Safronov, Egor Osipov, Danila Muravyov,  Roman Gaynullin,  Bulat Khusnimardanov, Olesya Morozova, Yulia Vafina, Alyona Bagautdinova, Alina Shakirova, Alyona Zhigalina;
- canoe - Denis Zamaleev. 

During the tournament grand opening, which is due to be held on August 13, two Dragon boats will be handed over to the Canoe Sprint Federation of the Republic of Tatarstan. The boats that are the only ones in their class in the republic and whose total cost is over 1 mln rubles will be a gift from the NEFIS Group of Companies, the partner of the Canoe Sprint Federation of the Republic of Tatarstan.

Press Department of Executive Directorate for Sports Projects