27th Summer Universiade in Kazan,

July 6-17 2013

Universiade ends for rowing athletes

The rowing competitions have come a close today at the 27th World University Summer Games. A total of 13 medal events were awarded over 3 days of competition.


Universiade. Rowing. Day 2 © RIA Novosti

Today was the last day of the rowing competitions at the 27th World University Summer Games. A total of 13 medal events were awarded over the 3 days of competition, 5 of which found their new owners on Sunday. The first to try on the medals were athletes in the women’s double sculls. The gold went to Donata Vistartaite and Milda Valciukayte (Lithuania), silver to Tatsiana Kukhta and Katsiaryna Shliupskaya (Belarus) and bronze to Anna Kravchenko and Olena Buriak (Ukraine).

The next heat was the women’s single sculls where the London 2012 Summer Olympic champion in the women's four Nataliia Dovgodko took the gold. Second place went to Jitka Antosova (Czech Republic), who lost by only 0.33, with the bronze going to Elza Gulbe from Latvia.

The first place in the men’s coxless four went to the German athletes Jann-Edzard Junkmann, Milan Dzambasevic, Kay Rueckbrodt and Alexander-Nicholas Egler. Silver went to the Italian four of Simone Ferrarese, Simone Martini, Mattia Boschelli and Elia Salani. The Russian rowers took the bronze with a team of Andrey Stolyarov, Vasily Stepanov, Mikhail Belov and Denis Nikiforov.

The Belarusian team of Iryna Liaskova and Alena Kryvasheyenka came in first in the women’s lightweight double sculls. The silver went to Germans athletes Katrin Thoma and Nora Wessel who came in 8.15 after the leaders. The bronze went to the Russian team of Anna Yazykova and Natalia Varfolomeeva.

The German team also took the gold in the men’s lightweight coxless four with Tobias Daniel Franzmann, Stefan Wallat, Daniel Wisgott and Lasse Antczak. Silver was awarded to the French team consisting of Morgan Maunoir, Barthelemy Agostini, Clement Fonta and Edouard Jonville. The Japanese team of Masato Kobayashi, Hirohide Sakagami, Yusuke Sato and Yusaku Araki took the bronze.

The additional 8 medal events were awarded on the final day of the competition.

Kirsten Michelle of the Republic of South Africa triumphed in the women’s lightweight single sculls. She was able to best Olga Arkadova of Russia by 4.01, who took second place. Third place went to Italian athlete Eleonora Trivella.

Germans rowers came out on top in the men’s lightweight single sculls, with Julius Peschel taking the gold. Second place went to Polish Jerzy Kowalski with third place going to Hungary’s Gabor Csepregi.

The Russians athletes took their first win in the women’s coxless four. Russia’s team consisted of Julia Pozdnyakova, Oksana Strelkova, Anastasia Karabalschikova and Aleksandra Fedorova. The Russian team bested South Africa’s Claire-Louise Bode, Catherine Stark, Kate Christowitz and Holly Jean Norton who came in second. The bronze rowed off to Ukraine thanks to the team of Kateryna Sheremet, Ilona Romanesku, Levgeniia Nimchenko and Daryna Verkhogliad.

The Lithuanians Mascinskas Rolandas and Ritter Saulius triumphed in the men’s double sculls. They were 12.20 faster than the second-place team of Ukrainians Dovhodko Ivan and Nadtoka Olexandr. The Russian team of Dmitry Khmylnin and Denis Pribyl came in third place.         

The title of the strongest in the single men’s competition went to Lithuania’s Griskonis Mindaugas who led by 5.62 over Mexican Patrick Alexandre Ernst Loliger. Third place went to Sergii Gumennyi from Ukraine.

The men’s lightweight double sculls went to Austria’s Paul Sieber and Bernhard Sieber. Second place went to Ukrainian Igor Khmara and Stanislav Kovalov. The Italian team of Simone Molteni and Leone Maria Barbaro took the bronze medal.

The final rowing competition at the Summer Universiade 2013 in Kazan was the men’s eight, where the Russian team triumphed over their competitors. The champion team consisted of Lev Gritsenko, Viktor Misyutkin, Rostislav Drozhzhachih, Georgy Efremenko, Ivan and Nikolai Balandin, Anton Zarutsky, Daniil Andrienko and Pavel Safonkin. Trailing by 4.77 behind the Russians, the Ukrainian team took second place with Denys Chornyi, Stanislav Chumraiev, Ivan Yurchenko, Vasyl Zavgorodnii, Vitalii Tsurkan, Ivan Futryk, Dmytro Mikhai, Anatolii Radchenko and Vladyslav Nikulin. The Netherlands took the bronze with a team of Hugo Van Velzen, Vincent Van Der Leer, Stef Broenink, Maarten Van Blokland, Jonathan Lemaire, Geert Hemminga, Menno Van Blitterswijk, Mathew Kleine Punte and Marc Hummelink.






Media Department of Kazan 2013 Executive Directorate