27th Summer Universiade in Kazan,

July 6-17 2013

Field hockey

Medal events at 2013 Summer Universiade

Overall number of medal events: 2
Technical handbook
  • tournament
  • tournament

Maximum number of entries: 8+8 teams.

Participating countries

  • BLR
  • GER
  • ITA
  • MAS
  • POL
  • RUS
  • UKR
  • FRA
  • KOR
  • RSA
  • JPN


Medal winning countries and medallists at Summer Universiade 2013 in Kazan
Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
1 RUS 1 1 0 2
2 KOR 1 0 0 1
3 FRA 0 1 0 1

Before the Summer Universiade in Kazan, field hockey made an appearance in the programme of the World University games just once, in 1991, when the WUGs were held in Sheffield (Great Britain).

Field hockey started rapidly developing in the USSR in 1967, when the USSR Federation Bandy and Field Hockey was established and Grigory Granaturov was elected its first President.
On October 26, 1969 the USSR Federation Bandy and Field Hockey became member of the International Hockey Federation (FIH), and on September 22, 1970 the USSR was admitted to the European Hockey Federation (EHF).
In 1980, after the national field hockey team’s bronze medal winning performance at the Moscow Olympics, the USSR Field Hockey Federation was founded and Stanislav Chibiryaev was appointed its President. He led the Federation until 1988 and was later replaced by Mikhail Bezrukov. From 1992 to 2012, the Field Hockey Federation has been headed by Sergey Chechenkov. Currently, the President is Pavel Cherepanov.

The history of field hockey in Kazan started more than 30 years ago. According to the resolution passed by the Moscow Plenum in 1975, the Republican Council of the Spartak Voluntary Sports Society was entrusted with the mission to develop field hockey in the Tatar Autonomous Soviet Socialistic Republic (TASSR). The society launched the first field hockey section in the 1975-1976s. The women’s Burevestnik field hockey team was founded by Munir Faizrakhmanov and Gennady Filyushin based on the pedagogical institute.

The men’s Burevestnik team was established in 1981 on the basis of Kazan Chemical and Technological Institute. As a result of the society’s hard work, both teams appeared at the Burevestnik Voluntary Sports Society’s championship in June, 1981. The men’s team took part in the Spartakiade of People of the USSR and second league of the USSR Championship. At different times the team represented the Burevestnik Voluntary Sports Society and All-Union Voluntary Physical Culture and Sports Society of Trade Unions; the sports school was opened to train children and youth. Ten years of committed work allowed the team to qualify for the first league of the USSR Championship in 1991.     
In 1992 Sergey Chernov and team veterans joined their efforts to revive field hockey in Kazan and the men's Idel team (Dynamo since 2000) began its quest towards the championship title.  

Field hockey’s most rapid development started in 2000 and was actively supported by the Dynamo Physical Culture and Sports Society of the Republic of Tatarstan. Since that time the number of people playing field hockey, teams and their general skill level has significantly increased. The key field hockey venue in the Republic of Tatarstan is the Dynamo Republican Specialised Children and Youth Sports School of the Olympic Reserve.  

For the period of its existence (since 2000), the Dynamo Republican Specialised Children and Youth Sports School of the Olympic Reserve turned in one of leading sports schools not only in the Republic of Tatarstan, but in Russia.

Children and youth teams of various age groups defend Tatarstan’s honour at all national championships.

Every year the men’s and women’s teams take part in the Russian Championship and take prize places.
Field hockey sections function in the Aviator Kazan Children and Youth Sports School of the Aviastroitelny City District of Kazan and School of the Olympic Reserve.
Tatarstan is represented in the superleague of the Russian Championship by the following teams:

- men’s team of Dynamo Kazan FHC – eight-time champion of Russia, multiple bronze and silver prize-medallist of the Russian Championship, holder of the Cup of Russia, participant of the Euro Hockey League in 2010/2011, 2011/2012 – under the guidance of head coach Araik Margaryan;
 - women’s team of Dynamo School of the Olympic Reserve- Republican Specialised Children and Youth Sports School of the Olympic Reserve coached by Sergey Chernov;
- women’s team of Giproniiaviaprom Dynamo FHC coached by Igor Mulladzhanov.

The Field Hockey Centre was commissioned in 2007 and became the major venue for field hockey development. Presently the Field Hockey Centre is the only specialised venue in Russia that meets all international requirements.  

The centre’s facilities were put into operation in August, 2006. A number of competitions of various size and scale, including rounds of the men's and women’s Russian Field Hockey Championship, men's and women’s major league competitions, Cups of Russia and children's tournaments, were held there to test the venue’s potential.

Since its foundation, the venue hosted international field hockey competitions:
- 2007 – Men's Field Hockey Champions Challenge I
- 2008 – Women's Field Hockey Olympic Qualifier
- 2009 – Women's Hockey Champions Challenge II
-2010 – Women's Field Hockey World Cup
Taking into account wide experience of staging international competitions and high results demonstrated by Tatarstan’s teams, field hockey was included in the programme of the 27th Summer Universiade in Kazan.

Venues Icon-more


Field Hockey Centre

Address: 11 Orenburgsky Trakt St
Phone: (843) 533-36-54